My Son’s #DentalSurgery #PreOp Appt (#Autism)

A couple of weeks before school started, my son had dental surgery. He needed one tooth removed to make space for grown-up teeth that were growing but the baby tooth wasn’t coming out; and he also needed a molar removed because, as with many children with Autism, it had rotted from the inside out since he won’t use toothpaste when brushing his teeth. You would think by now, with stats like 1 in 68, the toothpaste industry would have started making toothpaste that isn’t so strong tasting, and bubble so much…but I digress.

My daughter had dental surgery before the end of last school year, and she was an absolute superstar! She needed to have some baby teeth removed because the grown up teeth had grown in behind the baby teeth and was causing too much crowding in her wee mouth. (Sensing a theme here with my twins? 😉 ).

I took my son for his pre-op appointment the week prior to his surgery. He cuddled up under his weighted blanket during registration:

IMG_00006454

He drew lots on his whiteboard while we were in the waitroom:

IMG_00006457          IMG_00006462

He even tried stealing the nurse’s stethoscope while she and I were chatting. Of course, seeing as they specialize in surgeries for children, she had another one on hand for him to use while we took all his measurements (height, weight, blood pressure, etc).

IMG_00006467         IMG_00006468

He loved getting his blood pressure taken too…in fact, he tried going for that FIRST, before anything else. The nurse thought it was so cute.

Tomorrow…tales of the actual surgery…stay tuned…. 😉

One thought on “My Son’s #DentalSurgery #PreOp Appt (#Autism)

  1. Pingback: My Son’s #DentalSurgery – Part 2 (#Autism) | I'm A Mom Too

Leave a Reply

