Struggle I Overcame in 2013 (#InspireMe2014)

Inspire Me 2014

I got behind on my daily posts for the Inspire Me 2014 Writing Prompt . If you follow me on Facebook, you’ll know why: two courses starting AND creating a “girl cave” (woohoo!). So, I’m just going to jump right in with today’s Inspire Me 2014 Writing Prompt : Write about a struggle you overcame in 2013.

It’s no secret to anyone who reads my blog that a big struggle I faced and overcame (with a final grade of 81%!) was returning to school. It was exciting, scary, exhilarating, overwhelming, but overall, it’s been a great experience.

I haven’t felt so old as I did on my first day in September when the professor was describing online resources and I couldn’t write fast enough with where he was clicking on the projector screen. The last time I went to university, email was just starting to be available to us regular people. The last time I went to college, we couldn’t submit assignments via email as our assignments would have required the use of scanners…which weren’t financially available to most people. Now, there’s this thing called a “dropbox”. Silly me asked where the dropbox was, getting pen and paper ready to write down a room number…only to be told to log into our course online and there was a button there to submit our assignments through the dropbox. Sigh.

It’s been a huge learning curve but I did well taking one course. This semester, I’m venturing forward with taking two courses – one in class, and one purely online. Talk about ANOTHER learning curve! I spent the morning today creating a calendar for all the assignments, reading requirements, youtube videos to watch, timelines, etc for both of these courses. Needless to say, it’s going to be a busy semester…

Leave a Reply

