Pay It Forward (#InspireMe2014Challenge)

Today’s Inspire Me 2014 Writing Prompt is: It’s no secret we all ‘Paid it Forward” in 2013, what are some Random Acts of Kindness you’d like to accomplish this year? Heck! Make it into another challenge for yourself.

 

I do what I can for anyone I know, whether it’s volunteering for local moms groups, Parent Council (well, not this year anyway as it’s at the same time as my class was first semester), Facebook group administering, etc). Giving is such a “norm” for my kids, that although my daughter gets disappointed when she outgrows clothing, it makes her happy that everything we don’t need anymore, I post on local Facebook groups that are similar to Freecycle. We help out whomever we can, in whatever way we can…it’s part of our family values so we will continue to do as we always do.

The biggest Random Act of Kindness I did in 2013 was helping coordinate 47 baskets for donation from a mom’s group to the local Salvation Army for their Adopt A Family program. My kids were involved in helping pick up donated items and putting together the baskets.

CM1512786_10100339409388560_2129979479_n

My daughter even asked who was going to receive the baskets. I told her that they were going to single moms, then tentatively asked her if she knew what “single moms” are. Surprisingly, she said “you are mommy”. Smart girl!

Leave a Reply

