Made an Activities-Based #AdventCalendar

I didn’t have an Advent Calendar growing up. I only learned about them a couple of years ago and thought it was brilliant…get a little chocolate every day in December, just because. Last year, I ate one of the chocolates on a weekend the kids were at their dad’s (don’t tell them!) and couldn’t believe how cheap and gross it was. Ugh. I needed something else.

A couple months ago, we had a speaker at a local mom’s group, and she showed us the Advent Calendar she had made for her family…brilliant! Searched on Pinterest, found some great examples. Time went by and I realized it was suddenly November…and between exams and assignments, I didn’t really know when I would find the time to make one. Then one of the moms groups decided to hold an Advent Calendar/Christmas Card making event. Bingo!

A girlfriend of mine and member of the moms group led the event as she’s a Stampin’ Up consultant. She set up tons of stuff and honestly, I got a bit overwhelmed…too many options. So, she took about half of it away and I started stamping all the numbers. Some worked, some didn’t so I had to repeat those, hence the duplicates.

A1461224_665179213521844_1279944993_n

Then I started working on making the envelopes all “purdy”:

A1476467_665179080188524_1366905441_n

As I continued, I got more comfortable, and my girlfriend started introducing me to more tools I could use to make them even more “purdy”. A couple hours later, I had made all of the envelopes:

A1426184_665179020188530_1637939220_n

We discussed that it was missing “something”. My girlfriend offered to pick up some Christmas fabric and we could use that as a background. Unfortunately, glass had broken all over the fabric the morning we were getting together to finish it off and show to all the ladies in the moms group, so we didn’t get to do that. So we got together a couple of days later to paint the background instead. Took a bit of time to figure out but I decided upon green:

IMG_00003205      IMG_00003206

Included a Christmas tree border around the outside:

IMG_00003208

After it was dried, I glued some snowflakes and all the envelopes on it.

IMG_00003209

Added the tags for inside each of the envelopes…and voila! Now proudly displayed on our living room wall.

IMG_00003222

We love it!

4 thoughts on “Made an Activities-Based #AdventCalendar

    • I only learnt about them a few years ago…and the ones you buy with a piece of chocolate every day are cute BUT the chocolate is HORRIBLE. All chemicals. This has been a great way to spend more time together, and forcing me to get crafty stuff going. 😉

  1. Pingback: Days 1 – 7 of #AdventCalendar | I'm A Mom Too

  2. Pingback: #AdventCalendar Days 9 – 16 | I'm A Mom Too

Leave a Reply

