Our Little #Polydactyl #Kitten

After the kids went to bed last night, I was sitting on the couch, with a movie on in the background and studying. Eventually our kitten, Patches, came to cuddle up beside me and fell asleep. I looked down and saw so much cuteness…

P1234774_630767506963015_947628514_n

Then I realized I could get a great photo of one of his front paws…

P1234343_630767706962995_880700201_n

Yes, that’s ONE paw. He has 8 toes on each of his front paws, and 6 toes on each of his back paws. Initially, we counted 7 toes on his front paws, but when I cut his nails the first time, I realized there were actually 8 toes. Never having had a kitten before, I don’t know if his activities are “normal” but I swear this kitten uses the extra toes as an opposable thumb. My daughter’s favourite game with him is to tickle his belly while he’s lying on his back, and he wraps his legs and “thumbs” around her arm. She’s able to pick him up by lifting his arm because he can hold on so well. He can also jump REALLY high, regularly from the back of the couch and almost landing on my shoulder while I’m standing up…and I’m a tall girl at 5’10”!

 

Our original cat is still getting used to him, but at least they can be in the same room. She doesn’t hiss at him until he gets a couple of inches away from her. We tell her to be nice, and I tell the kitten to stop being an instigator. He understands that word, right? 😉

One thought on “Our Little #Polydactyl #Kitten

  1. Pingback: Quick Fix: Kitten Belly Aches | Fredrick and Lilly

Leave a Reply

