After School #MeTime, While The Kids Are Home?!!

My son’s new after school routine (within the last month and a half or so) is to get out of the car, run to the driveway of our neighbour 3 doors down, run back, play with his shadow, and then hang out on another neighbour’s porch for a while. Some days, he can be there for a good hour or so. If those neighbours are outside, and needing to go in and out of their front door, they just say hi, move around him and head inside.  They even asked after we moved in late last summer how to communicate with him!  How awesome are our neighbours?!

Until now, this after school routine has been a bit difficult for me, trying to keep an eye on him while my daughter is going in and out of our home, and honestly, trying to find somewhere comfortable for me to be for the hour or so he takes for this routine…especially when it’s raining (and the couple of days it snowed). A couple of days ago however, my man’s parents gave us some new-to-us lawn chairs and table (they’re even my favourite colour: green!).  While my son did his routine last night, I was able to bring backpacks and everything inside, get the kids an after school snack, and make myself a chai. I then sat down in our new chairs on the front porch with my feet up, reading my book (shocking that it’s about Autism!), drinking my chai and still being able to keep an eye on my son.

946736_567345109971922_90558949_n

A bonus too, is the view of and lovely fragrance resulting from the bush in my front yard:

397951_567300796643020_1726466699_n

Not a bad routine to have to “endure” each and every day! 😉

2 thoughts on “After School #MeTime, While The Kids Are Home?!!

  1. How awesome. I think is is so incredible that your neighbors want to communicate with your son. It truly is the little things that make a village. (found you via love that max)

  2. Pingback: Recap of #Blog for #2013 | I'm A Mom Too

Leave a Reply

