#SupportGroup Where I Actually Felt Supported – Go Figure! (#SpecialNeeds.com)

My post on SpecialNeeds.com:

Support Groups Where I Actually Felt Supported ��

For the first time in the 5 or so years I’ve been attending Autism-specific Support Groups, I attended one recently where I actually felt supported and understood when I left…and what’s even more amazing is that both my man AND my ex-hubby were there (awkward, and completely unplanned). I used to attend a Support Group that was for all special needs that was supportive and, ironically, the only families who attended all ended up having at least a diagnosis on the Autism Spectrum.

 

My experience with Support Groups for the Autism community prior to this meeting is that primarily parents of teenagers/adults with diagnosis are able to attend. I found myself sitting in a room filled with parents complaining about how little support they received 15/20/25+ years ago. Needless to say, as a parent of newly diagnosed child with Autism, this wasn’t very supportive, and hadn’t been my experience thus far.

 

See the rest of my post here:  SpecialNeeds.com/SupportGroupWhereIFeltSupported

My other posts on SpecialNeeds.com: SpecialNeeds.com/Meghan

Leave a Reply

