Why I’ve been a silent blogger aka What we did this summer

 

The big news from this summer is that we moved back to the City from Small Town, Ontario. It’s the 3rd move the kids and I have done since their dad and I split and thankfully, this will be the last move for a very long time (decades hopefully!).

We basically had to gut the house we moved into, renovate lots and then move in. The original plan was to move on the Saturday of one of the full weeks the kids were at their dad’s over the summer so I would have the week to finish painting, unpacking and organizing. Of course, renos never go as scheduled/planned and when the kids moved in at the end of the week with their dad, our bathroom was fully function the day before, and supplier mess ups meant that we still didn’t have a kitchen. Well, the basics were there but nothing was functional because the supplier sent us the wrong countertop (a white one…who orders a white countertop??! One spaghetti dinner with a white countertop would stain and ruin it!). I had ordered a very cool brown-toned countertop called “Jamocha” (which I say with a really horrible weird accent every single time!) and at no point in time had been told that was a customized countertop so would cost extra. Along with the many other little problems from the supplier which all together meant a huge problem, they ended up giving us the customized countertop (which is supposed to take 6 – 8 weeks I might add) within 3 days.

Somehow I pulled off still feeding the kids with horrible fast food (our digestive systems weren’t happy!) and eating at my man’s place daily (he’s the best, especially since my kids are very picky eaters). Somehow I also pulled off “Back to School” without a functioning kitchen OR being fully unpacked.  I knew I had all the supplies, I just couldn’t find them!  I perfected a very intricate method of balancing everything on top of the dishwasher top (which is NOT flat in case you were wondering) to make and pack lunches.

Now, we’re at the “making everything pretty” stage with only 3 more rooms to paint. My daughter’s room is pink (she chose it…and it’s VERY pink!). My son’s room is blue (which he also chose). My room is green (my fav colour) and it makes me smile. The rest of the house is a nice warm beige/taupe colour that, as soon as my man saw it he declared that it was the same colour as my chai, which I actually hadn’t noticed until he pointed it out. It was so nice being able to choose all the paint colours myself, for the first time in my life.

Best of all, just tonight, I finally made pumpkin loaf (our family staple) so we’re finally “home”!

 

Leave a Reply

