My Guest Post: #SupportGroups Needs, from a Parent’s Perspective

Posted today on SpecialNeeds.com:

Because I’m an extrovert to the core, I’m naturally a “joiner”. I’m part of Parents’ Council for both of my kids’ schools, Autism-related support groups, special needs-related support groups, moms groups, etc. As a result, my schedule can get pretty filled between those groups, appointments for my son, field trip chaperoning for my daughter, being taxi-driver to ensure my son gets to IBI, etc.  

I’ve seen groups that are well managed, others that are still growing, and others that have it so down pat that they are amazing! So, I thought I would compile a list of things I really like that groups put in place to help their members.

To communicate with your group:

  • have a Facebook group 
  • keep a current membership list (this will look different for any group as some have fee-based memberships, others are just attendance-related)
  • have an email distribution list…

Click here to view the entire post.

 

Leave a Reply

