Same-sex marriages not able to divorce in Canada…?!

 

I was reading my NewsFeed on Facebook recently and discovered the title of an article that lead me to do some Google research: “Canadian Gov’t Dissolves Thousands of Same-Sex Marriages (Including Dan Savage’s)”.  I found some additional articles from “mainstream” Canadian media as well:

So many thoughts are swirling around in my head (some in the “what on earth?!!!” frame of mind) that I thought I would share them, just because I can.  Frankly, seeing the title of the article ticked me off. What do you mean same-sex marriages have just arbitrarily been dissolved?!! How is that “right”?!!!  How would I have felt if one day I had woken up while I was married, and found out that my marriage was dissolved overnight. I don’t think my (then) husband and I would have been very happy about that.  Now, it doesn’t matter, but it would sure make divorce proceedings a lot easier! LOL!

Upon further research, I discovered that it’s actually same-sex marriages of foreigners who chose to be married in Canada because their resident State or country doesn’t recognize their union.  OK…BUT, as the daughter of a “foreigner” who has been a legal citizen of Canada for decades (she speaks funny and everything! 😉 ), what does this mean, and why does it matter? Could this mean that my parents’ marriage could arbitrarily be dissolved because my mom was born elsewhere but my dad is Canadian-born?  More research…

As it turns out, Marriage Law in Canada does not require residency inCanada, hence so many same-sex couples who live elsewhere come here to get married.  Canadian Divorce Law however requires a minimum year of residency in Canada.  Hmmm…seems to be a discrepancy here. 

So, my question is, are heterosexual couples who got married in Canada but don’t reside here able to get divorced?  I guess that isn’t really an issue considered heterosexual unions are officially recognized everywhere in the world, however I see that as being a whole different issue.

I don’t know what financial impact foreign-based couples who were married here would have on the Canadian government, let alone what impact their divorce would have, but I would hate to see the Canadian government no longer marry same-sex couples, no matter where they reside.  I would imagine though that the Canadian government was able to enjoy the money they received from these couples getting marriage licenses.  Are they going to refund that money now that they have dissolved these Unions?

When will we live in a society where either we ALL or NO ONE needs “declare” our sexual preference, or everyone just accepts that there is someone for everyone, no matter their gender? 

I would love to hear from you regarding this topic.

 

2 thoughts on “Same-sex marriages not able to divorce in Canada…?!

  1. I could not agree more with you. I too could not imagine how I would feel if one day someone told me my marriage was not valid. Furious is one word that comes to mind. I want my children to live in a world where color, religion, sexual orientation, or sex does not dictate what laws apply to them and which laws do not. Thanks for a great post!

  2. My understanding was that heterosexuals are in the same boat, meaning if they want a divorce one of them has to live in Canada for a year. But you could be right that you can divorce anywhere if it is recognizable that you are married!

Leave a Reply

