Fill in the Blanks Friday – 10/29

1.   When I was a kid I wanted to be a teacher, a news anchor, a cancer research and/or a professional speaker when I grew up.  In contrast, I now can’t stand the politics of being a teacher (so my teacher friends tell me), I don’t think I’ve watched the news in years, I dated a guy who is a cancer researcher but that’s as close as I got to that one.  I did however use to make a living where my duties included public speaking – it’s perfect for me.  I’m as comfortable speaking one-on-one with someone as I am speaking in front of hundreds.  Crazy, I know.

2.   As an adult, my dream job would be  one where I can write and speak, and still be available to continue volunteering at my kids’ schools, and whenever they need me to be there for them.

3.  When I was younger I wanted to be just like every successful corporate woman who was recognized for her abilities and accomplishments…and had the huge corner office with all the benefits that came along with that.  Having kids changed that…and I wouldn’t change that for anything.

4. The childhood Halloween costume that I remember most was when I was a car-accident victim.  I had just broken my arm in real life and, it didn’t “match” my planned Halloween costume so I changed it.  Had some other great costumes as a kid too: Anne of Green Gables (ok, as a redhead, it was kind of mandatory to do that at least once), a present (my brother and I decorated huge boxes as presents and popped out of them whenever someone opened the door), Pierot the Clown, etc.

5.  My favorite childhood toy was Tonka trucks.  Although I had the stereotypical Barbies and dolls, I remember playing with cars and trucks more often, and chasing after insects with my friends.  Yup, I was a tom-boy, despite being trained in figure skating and classical ballet.  I did however have a Raggedy-Anne doll I slept with every night.  What can I say?  I’m complicated.

6.  The time I got into the biggest amount of trouble when I was a kid was when I spilt a big can of paint on the back porch when I was painting the door.  Even that wasn’t “big trouble”…too much of a goody two-shoes. 

7.  I get daily inspiration from my kids.  They are my greatest teachers, and help ground me when things don’t seem positive.

Happy Halloween!

 

Leave a Reply

